Tray application


Our tray application (icon) is used to notify you of your device's status. It also makes accessing your account on the segira.com portal quick and easy. The Segira icon is located in your system tray or notification area, usually at the bottom right of your screen. You may have to expand the system tray or notification area with the up or left arrow to see the icon. Our icon will always have Segira's castle logo with verying colors or display additional features to quickly indicate the status of your device as described below. The icon as seen here shows a green castle to indicate that your system is being monitored and fully protected by Segira DataGuard.
Menu


Images

The Segira tray icon may change at times. Depending on the state of your device the icon will take on any of the following images:

Default
This is what you will see right after the tray application has been started and no device status information has been obtained yet. Usually you will see this default icon for very short periods of time only.

Active
This is what you want to see. It indicates your device is actively being monitored and protected from malware.

Offline
Your device has no internet connection or the Segira cloud isn't reachable at the moment. This may be quite normal for a laptop if you are travelling or have disabled your wireless radio or unplugged your network cable. While your device is offline, requests and messages to and from the server or the portal will be queued up and passed on as soon as the connection has been reestablished (you don't need to be logged into the portal for this to happen).

No service
Something is wrong! Segira DataGuard may not be running correctly and your device may not be protected. Please reboot your system or restart the Segira DataGuard Core system service (SegiraSvc) to see if this resolves the issue.

Scanning
While a device scan is in progress the Segira tray will display an animation of this image.


Context Menu

If you right-click the Segira tray icon a context menu will appear. Clicking on:

About Segira will open a dialog box and give you some basic information about the installed Segira DataGuard product.

Manual Overrides (see Run Time below). If the menu item is grayed out, there are no analyses pending.

Open portal will open your default browser and take you to the 'Manage Device' page for this device (assuming you are logged in; otherwise it will direct you to the login page first) where you can manage your device and run scans, view and change settings and see a list of quarantined files. See Manage Device help for more details as well as the help text below.
Tray


Run Time

At runtime two different, Segira-orange windows may pop up at the bottom of your screen to inform you of some unusual events that may need your attention:

Manual Classification Overrides:
This window will be displayed at the bottom right of your screen and contains a list of applications and libraries whose analysis is pending or ongoing and has taken longer than usual to complete. This may happen if your device is offline (as depicted here with the yellow Segira castle) and you try starting a new app from a USB stick, or there are several new libraries trying to load at the same time or your internet connection is slower than usual or down. We stronly recommend you ignore this list and wait until Segira has analyzed the files in question (close the window via the Hide ), at which point the entries will disappear again and app execution will resume normally (unless a malicious file is blocked). If you cannot wait for Segira's analysis, you can manually decide what to do with each app/library: click Allow to allow it to run or Block to block it from running temporarily. Note: Once Segira's analysis arrives it will override your manual decision for future app starts.

Ransomware Protection:
This window will pop up at the bottom left of your screen if an app shows signs of ransomware behavior. You will currently have to make a manual decision at that point in time. Similar to above, click Allow to allow it to continue running and make changes to your files or click Block to terminate it and block it from being started again. Note: Your desicion is final and cannot be undone.

To view a list of already modified files or to undo these changes, click the provided link in the window. See Manage Device help for more details.



Override






Override